Here at the Send Me Your Ears studio today, we’ve been listening to The Palfreyman Collective’s latest single, Slowburner, released on January 12, 2023.

The Palfreyman Collective is a group of musicians and singers put together by songwriter David Palfreyman (

Slowburner starts with some dreamy electric guitar and a melodic bass guitar is quickly added. The bassline is reminiscent of Bon Jovi’s, Livin’ On A Prayer, and maintains excitement throughout the track.

Lead vocals are powerful and give the song a Black Crowes feeling. As the song builds into the first chorus, extra guitars are added and take the song up a notch to a rockier feel.

That all-important second verse adds in some gorgeous female vocal harmonies and some incidental guitar fills.

The song builds into a sax solo which adds in some sublime altissimo notes towards the end that then continue over the top of the vocals. We absolutely loved the superb drum fills after the solo.

Ideas from our ears

To our ears, a little EQ balancing could really make a difference to this track. A boost around 50Hz would bring out the bass and kick a little more. A careful surgical cut at 195Hz would bring down a slight peak coming from the top snare mic. A boost around 300Hz would increase the fullness in the low mids too. A cut centred around 2.5kHz would reduce a little harshness and a fairly large boost centred around 12kHz would increase the brightness and presence in the track. A high-shelf boost in the top octave wouldn’t be a bad idea either. As always, these are just some ideas from our ears.

According to the biography, David Palfreyman has collected a star-studded group of musicians for this project;
“Musicians include Martin Barker (Shriekback/Marianne Faithful, Tim Robins), Matt Hector (Iggy Pop) on drums. Ben Miles (Film & TV actor) and Dan Mckinna (Tindersticks) on Bass. David Clayton (Simply Red/David Bowie/George Michael) on keyboards Greg Hart (Cats in Space) Rodger Hanna (Decades) on guitars. Vocalists include Paul Manzi (The Sweet/Arena), Jesse Smith (The Classic Rock Show/ Gutterdammerung), Damien Edwards (Cats In Space), Allegra Shock and Sarah Jane Morris (The Communards).”